On Air Now


Listen Live Now » 94.1 FM Jackson, Michigan


Current Conditions(Holt,MI 48842)

More Weather »
63° Feels Like: 63°
Wind: E 0 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


Partly Cloudy 63°


Mostly Clear 45°


Partly Cloudy 71°


Chris Cornell, Alabama Shakes Featured on "12 Years a Slave" Soundtrack

Image courtesy of Columbia Records (via ABC News Radio)
Image courtesy of Columbia Records (via ABC News Radio)

Chris Cornell and Alabama Shakes are among the artists contributing tracks the official soundtrack album inspired by the upcoming drama, 12 Years a Slave .

The Soundgarden frontman has written an original song called “Misery Chain” for the project, which includes some additional vocals by singer/songwriter Joy Williams . Cornell says he was inspired to write “a hundred different songs” for the album, but settled on “Misery Chain.”

“I was moved by this film and the story in a way that transcends any film experience I have ever had,” he explains in a statement. “Compassion, basic human rights and love must be our priorities above race, religion or commerce. Every generation needs a reminder of that simple idea.”

Alabama Shakes chose to cover a classic jazz track for the release, "Driva' Man," because of its central message.  “There is no lightness in the music of ‘Driva' Man’ because there is no mention of freedom in this song,” says frontwoman Brittany Howard in a statement. “The focus of the track is about an enslaved person reaching ‘quittin' time’ while also trying to please the overseer to avoid getting beaten. 12 Years is one of the most important films we have ever seen and it is important to us to give back some of what the movie has given to us.”

The soundtrack album will be released digitally on November 5, followed by a physical release on November 19.

Here’s the track list for Music from and Inspired by 12 Years a Slave :

“Devil’s Dream” -- Tim Fain
“Roll Jordan Roll” -- John Legend
“Freight Train” -- Gary Clark Jr.
“Yarney’s Waltz” -- Tim Fain and Caitlin Sullivan
“Driva Man” -- Alabama Shakes
“My Lord Sunshine (Sunrise)” -- David Hughey and Roosevelt Credit
“Move” -- John Legend feat. Fink
“Washington” -- Hans Zimmer
“(In the Evening) When the Sun Goes Down” -- Gary Clark Jr.
“Queen of the Field (Patsey’s Song)” -- Alicia Keys
“Solomon” -- Hans Zimmer
“Little Girl Blue” -- Laura Mvula
“Misery Chain” -- Chris Cornell featuring Joy Williams
“Roll Jordan Roll” -- Topsy Chapman featuring Chiwetel Ejiofor and Cast
“Money Musk” -- Tim Fain
“What Does Freedom Mean (to a Free Man)” -- Cody Chesnutt

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio